27 Years Of CAF Awards

The annual CAF Awards enters its 27th version this 12 months and the Awards Gala will happen for the primary time in Dakar, the capital of Senegal.

On Tuesday, eight January 2019; the King of African soccer might be topped on the Centre Worldwide de conférences Abdou Diouf (CICAD) in Dakar, amongst the trio of final 12 months’s winner, Mohamed Salah of Egypt, 2015 winner Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Senegalese Sadio Mane.

When the roll name for the laureates is launched, there’s one noticeable commentary. Cote d’Ivoire is the nation which has the largest variety of triumphs, six in complete, Toure (4) and Drogba (two); adopted by Nigeria on 5 titles, two for Kanu, one every for Emmanuel Amunike, Rashidi Yekini and Victor Ikpeba. Patrick Mboma received it as soon as coupled with Eto’o’s 4 additionally offers Cameroon 5 titles. Diouf is accountable for the one two titles within the identify of Senegal. One-time winners embrace Ghana – Abedi Pele, Liberia – George Weah (the one African participant to have been topped FIFA World Footballer of the 12 months), Morocco – Mustapha Hadji, Mali – Frederic Kanoute and Togo – Emmanuel Adebayor (Togo), Aubameyang (Gabon), Mahrez (Algeria) and Mohamed Salah (Egypt).

Akide was the primary to be topped queen of the African sport while Nkwocha was embellished a report 4 occasions (2004, 2005, 2010, 2011), a report Oshoala is one shy of after triumphs in 2014, 2016 and 2017. Uwak additionally received back-to-back titles (2006, 2007).

Ghana has two titles – Alberta Sackey (2002) and Adjoa Bayor (2003); with South Africa, Equatorial Guinea and Cameroon boasting of 1 crown every in Noko Matlou (2008), Genoveva Anonma (2012) and Gaelle Enganamouit (2015) respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *